Stamina Strength Perseverance

"for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith."  1 John 5:4

When I think of or see a bulldog, there are 3 characteristics that immediately come to my mind:

1. Stamina: ability to sustain prolonged physical or mental effort (endurance).

"Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up." Galatians 6:9

2. Strength: capacity for endurance, power to resist force, a strong attribute or inherent asset.

"She is clothed in strength and dignity; she can laugh at days to come." Proverbs 31:25

Side note: another attribute I perceive in bulldogs is they look very dignified. (Dignity: the state or quality of being worthy of honor or respect).

3. Persistence: firm or obstinate continuance in a course of action, in spite of difficulty or opposition. 

"Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. " 1 Corinthians 15:58

"Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love Him." James 1:12

You may be asking yourself right now, where is she going with all this about Bulldogs? What in the world do Bulldogs have to do with scripture?!?!?  I promise, this analogy will all come together. My hope is that at least one person gets as excited as I am.  

Let me start by giving you a little background on "how" I came to associate a bulldog with 1 John 5:4.

2 years ago, while at work, I was listening to a podcast of Gloria Copeland and her son-in-law. They were discussing this particular scripture as it pertains to unfaltering faith. What caught my immediate attention was: 

"Bulldog Faith:                                                            Take it!                                                                        Fight for it!                                                                  Don't let go of it!" - Gloria Copeland

I hit the pause button and wrote that down IMMEDIATELY. I cannot begin to explain how much it resonated with me. I went home after work and wrote it down in my Bible along with the Spanish translation.  Wow! In Spanish it sounds even more passionate!

La Fe De Un Perro Tenaz:                                    !Tomala!                                                                    Lucha por Ella!                                                              No la sueltes! 

I have read and re-read that scripture and quote over and over. It speaks to me every time. I have the power to overcome any and every trial and persecution. I have the power thru my faith in Him! And this past year He has shown (proven) it to me. Drawn me a picture, if you will. 

I told my husband, "I thought I had faith before. But after this 7 months on the mission field...Hah! I didn't come close to knowing what faith is or how to rely on it. Now I KNOW I do!"

We faced things I never dreamed of encountering; people, places, principalities and situations that without faith and trust in God, I would never have made it. 

This past week or so, I have felt driven to break down that scripture. Every morning this week, I couldn't wait to grab my coffee, snuggle under a blanket on the couch and study.  I got out my concordance and broke down every word. I looked it up in multiple Bible translations. I prayed over it, I asked for deeper revelation.  

I began with the Strong's Exhaustive Concordance - looking up every word in the scripture. Translating each one back to the original Greek word and writing down the definitions. I have listed the key words and their original Greek word and definitions:

Overcometh: Nikaö (neek-ah-oh) to subdue, conquer, prevail, get the victory.  

- from Nikē (knee-kay) the means of success.

Even: Kai (kahee) also, indeed

Faith: Pistís (pei-stees) persuasion, credence, conviction, truthfulness of God, constancy in profession, assurance, belief.

 - from Pĕithö (pie-though) to convince (by argument true or false), to concilate (by other fair means), to assent (to evidence), to rely (by inward certainty), assurance, trust.

Next I began pouring over different versions of the Bible.  The two I found the most informative, easy to read, "layman's" terms were The Message and Amplified versions:

"Every God-begotten person conquers the world's ways. The conquering power that brings the world to its knees is our faith." 1 John 5:4 (The Message version)

"For everyone born of God is victorious and overcomes the world; and this is the victory that conquered AND overcame the world - our (continuing, persistent) faith (in Jesus the son of God)." 1 John 5:4 (Amplified version)

Finally, after breaking down the words in Greek, reading multiple versions of the Bible, and more prayer; this is how it plays out in my head:              MY persistent belief and trust in God gives me all the strength and stamina needed to be victorious over any and all situations this world can throw at me. Indeed, I will prevail!

Yes, sometimes I struggle. Sometimes I don't understand why He tells me "no." I frequently ask God "why?" There are times I stew over a situation. Does this mean my faith isn't real or that I don't have enough? Absolutely NOT!  It means I am a real, independent, free-thinking person. I am not an android, slave, or clone. I have feelings, thoughts, opinions, the ability to reason, and I have questions. (He knows this; he created us this way. Without independent thought and emotion, we could not have true relationship and communication with Him).

When I struggle, I choose to grab a firmer hold to my faith and dig further into His word. I keep asking questions, praying and reading until I HEAR Him. When I calm down and listen with my spiritual ears, He always tells me what I need to know in order to understand His way and plan for a particular instance in my life. 

"The value of persistent prayer is not that He will hear us, but that we finally hear Him." - unknown author

I will continue to take hold of Him! I will fight for my faith! I will not let go!