Referral Appointment

I went to my appointment with my doctor at the O.U. Physicians Specialty Clinic today.  He got the labs back that I had done last week at the Indian Hospital in Tahlequah.  He said "I have good news and bad news, your ANA is definitely elevated and your Double Stranded DNA test came back elevated and positive.  Which means no more inconclusive results.  You definitely have Systemic Lupus.  The good news is that I can now refer you to the rheumatologist." 

Not sure how I feel yet.  Before it was hard because the closest diagnosis I could get was Undifferentiated Connective Tissue Disorder (because the double stranded DNA kept coming back "inconclusive").  So, even though he could tell me it was Lupus, he couldn't diagnose it on paper.  Now it is real.   I feel so much better than I have in YEARS, and during all the time that I was so very sick, my test results were inconclusive.  Now, I feel almost normal and the tests are positive.  So confusing....

Most of my appointment was spent with my doctor calling to try and get me in to the rheumatologist.  I just got the call from his nurse - I have an appointment in September, 2016.  Yes, you read that correctly, my appointment is 15 months away. The rheumatology clinic in Tulsa doesn't accept my O.U. scholarship, so I have to wait to be seen in Oklahoma City.  Just glad I feel better and I am able to function most days.  I think if I was still in the gutter, that 15 month wait would have killed me.  As it is, I will just bide my time and keep doing what I am doing.

On a totally awesome note:  When I weighed in for my appointment today, the computer system would not let the nurse continue inputting information on me until she REMOVED my Morbidly Obese diagnosis.  I am so thrilled!  I have worked so hard, for so long to lose weight.  Next stop - have the Obese diagnosis REMOVED and changed to Average Weight!!!!  I can do this! 

God has brought me this far and He is going to get me to the finish line.