New Year, New Path on This Journey

I am trying to deal with this sickness that transforms itself on a daily basis.  

If you don't have a copy of "Coping With Lupus" by Robert H. Phillips, Phd - I highly recommend it.  It documents symptoms, your emotions, description of feelings and has a chapter for your loved ones to read, so that they know how to handle their emotions about your illness and how to handle taking care of you.

I found this exert that I want to share:

Be Nice to Others:  "Sometimes one of the best ways to boost your own self-esteem is to be nice to other people.  The feeling of pleasure you get from helping others can be very gratifying an can improve the way you feel about yourself.

What are some of the things you can do to be nice to others?  You can help virtually any person in practically any aspect of his or her life, whether at home, work or play.  Visiting people in hospitals, nursing homes, and the like is one way to spread some sunshine.  Performing voluntary services in such organizations as churches, schools, and civic organizations is another possibility.

Helping others will make you feel better about yourself not only because you're performing a kind deed, but because you're doing something tangible to better cope with your disease.  Helping others with lupus can make a big difference in your life.  You'll feel more productive.  You'll feel like you belong and are an important member of society.  And, perhaps just as helpful, you'll find ways of reducing boredom and channeling any excess energy or tension."

This is my plan - I started this blog, months ago, to try to be an inspiration to others suffering from chronic conditions.  I kinda lost my way, but I have found it again.  I WILL be an inspiration to others!  I WILL NOT be a victim any longer.  I WILL get my "funny" back! 

This is the 2nd day of this 365 day chapter.  I invite you to take this journey that I have embarked upon.  Who is with me?