My HOPE Explained

It has been pointed out to me on numerous occasions that I should share my testimony with others - that there are other women out there that have been through some or all the tests that I have encountered in my life.  I never imagined that my story would be of help to anyone.  I have always had a servant heart, helping anyone in any way that I could.  And everyone who knows me, also knows that my life is an open book.  I have no secrets.  But, how in the world would sharing my story possibly "help"? 

For the past few months, the Lord has been talking to me about this Hope that I have burning in me.  It has just always been there and no matter what I was going through, it was never snuffed out.  Even in my darkest times - times that I honestly wished I could just slip into a coma and never wake up, or when I wished I had the "courage" to just end my own life.  What stopped me?  HOPE!  Unexplainable, burning Hope.  I didn't know where it came from, I just knew I had it.  And now, the Lord has laid it on my heart to explain my Hope to you.

I have 2 favorite scriptures on which I base my Hope.  The first is Hebrews 11:1 "Now, faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen."  (King James Version)  Now let's look at that same scripture in The Message version of the Bible - "Now, faith is the CONFIDENCE in what we hope for and the assurance about what we do not see."  I have always just "known" that there is a reason and purpose for me.  I have dabbled in many things, thinking that I was on my way to my purpose, only to figure out "that's not it."  Instead of giving up in discouragement, I just look at it as a learning experience.  You see, no matter how faithful we are, we all make mistakes and wander off of the path that the Lord has set before us.  He knows we will do it and He knows we will sometimes get hurt, but He is right there to pick us up and love on us when we come back to Him.  He sets our feet right back on the path we wandered from.  (And if you are anything like me, you may have wandered off the path more times than you care to count.)

Last Sunday in church, my Pastor was preaching and he said something that I could not write down fast enough, because it is SPOT ON for this article!  He said "God's Word + Hope (expectancy) + faith = manifestation.  Hope forms the image (according to the Word of God), faith acts on the image and gives it substance (confidence)....until it becomes reality.  But you must continually act on that faith and keep it in the forefront."  And then yesterday, I was a talking to my good friend about changing the direction of my blog from articles about Lupus & Chronic Pain to articles of Hope, based on my personal testimony.  He happened to be listening to a service on the radio and shared the following with me:  "In the original Greek, the words Hope, Expectancy & Pregnancy are interchangeable.  When we Hope, the Lord has impregnated us with what we are expecting.  Just like an expectant mother, you feel the first of that Hope seed." 

Now look at the definitions of some of the words from Hebrews 11:1, my Pastor's quote and what my friend shared with me:

Faith is the SUBSTANCE:  ultimate reality that underlies all outward manifestations.  This is confidence.

Hoped for (EXPECTED):  to think something will certainly happen.  To consider something to be reasonable, required, or necessary.

MANIFESTATION:  a perceptible, outward, visible expression.  A public demonstration of power & purpose.

Does that bless you as much as it does me?  I certainly Hope so.  If not, hang on - I'm not done.  I said that I have 2 favorite scriptures that I base my Hope on.  Here is the 2nd one:

"For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord.  Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future."  Jeremiah 29:11  See that word Hope?  This scripture is literally saying that He WILL give us our EXPECTED destiny.  Not just in heaven, but here on earth!  Look at Matthew chapter 6  where the Jesus teaches the disciples how to pray, He says "Our Father which art in heaven, hallowed be your name.  Thy kingdom come, thy will be done, ON EARTH as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses (debts), as we forgive those who trespass (owe) against us.  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil."  That's in RED letters, folks.  That means He said it and so I believe it!  Why?  Because He cannot and will not lie!

Let me share Jeremiah 29:11-14a from The Message version of the Bible:  "I know what I am doing, I have it all planned out - plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you HOPE (expect) for.  When you call on me, when you come and pray to me, I'll listen.  When you come looking for me, you'll find me.  Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I'll make sure you WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED.  (God's decree)" 

No matter where I have been in life, what tragedies have befallen me, what mistakes I have made, how far I have run from Him - He loves me!  From the moment I accepted Him as my Lord and Savior and professed with my mouth that Jesus Christ died on that cross for my sins - He has loved me and waited patiently while I got my act together.  And He has promised me that I can expect to be abundantly blessed (oh I know I am already blessed), but He promises to bless beyond anything I could possibly imagine.  And I happen to have a very vivid imagination - so, I am expecting phenomenal.  Because his Word says "Those who Hope in Me will not be disappointed."  Isaiah 49:23

I realize this is not my testimony per se, but I felt it necessary to explain where my Hope comes from before going into the gory details of my past.  And not to worry - I won't be unloading it all at once.  My Hope is that this endeavor will reach at least one person.  A single person that will see that no matter what is happening in their life....there IS Hope!  And He is just waiting for you to seek Him, cry out to Him, believe in Him, accept Him as your Lord and Savior and He will pour out His blessings upon you.  I pray that you are blessed by this blog and that you continue with me on this journey.

La Explicación de Mi ESPERANZA, 8 de junio de 2016

Me han comentado en numerosas ocasiones que debería compartir mi testimonio con otras personas — que hay otras mujeres en el mundo que han pasado por alguna o por  todas las pruebas que yo he encontrado en mi vida. Nunca me imaginé que mi historia pudiera ayudar a nadie. Siempre he tenido el corazón de siervo, ayudando a cualquier persona en cualquier forma posible. Y todos los que me conocen, saben mi vida como un libro abierto. No tengo secretos. Pero, ¿Cómo podría ser posible que el compartir mi historia pudiera ser una "ayuda"?

En los últimos meses, el Señor se ha estado comunicando conmigo sobre esta Esperanza que está ardiendo dentro de mí. Siempre ha estado allí, y a pesar de lo que me pasaba nunca se extinguió. Aún en los momentos más obscuros — momentos en que honestamente deseaba entrar en coma para jamás despertar,  o las veces que deseaba tener el “valor” de acabar con mi vida — ¿Qué es lo que me detuvo? ¡LA ESPERANZA! Una Esperanza ardiente, inexplicable. No sé de dónde venía, sólo sabía que la tenía. Y ahora, el Señor me ha puesto en el corazón la necesidad de explicarles mi Esperanza.

Tengo dos escrituras favoritas que son la base de mi Esperanza. El primero es Hebreos 11:1, “Es pues la fe la sustancia de las cosas que se esperan, la demostración de las cosas que no se ven.” (Reina Valera Antigua)

Ahora vemos esta misma escritura traducida de la versión The Message (El Mensaje) de la Biblia, “Ahora, la fe es la CONFIANZA en lo que esperamos y la seguridad de lo que no se ve.”  Siempre he “sabido” que hay una razón y un propósito para mi vida. He probado varias cosas, pensando que ahora sí estaba encaminada hacia mi propósito, sólo para descubrir que eso no era. En vez de darme por vencida, lo tomaba como una lección en la vida. Ya ven, sin importar qué tan fieles somos, todos nos equivocamos y erramos del camino que el Señor nos ha preparado. Él sabe que nos equivocaremos y sabe que a veces nos vamos a lastimar, pero está allí para levantarnos y abrazarnos cuando volvamos a Él. Nos pone los pies otra vez en el camino de dónde nos habíamos extraviado. (Y si ustedes se parecen a mí de alguna forma, podrían haberse salido del camino más veces de lo que quisieran admitir.)

El domingo pasado en mi iglesia, el Pastor estaba predicando y dijo algo que me apuré en escribir porque es TOTALMENTE  RELACIONADO con éste artículo. Dijo que “La Palabra de Dios + La Esperanza (la expectación/anticipación) + la fe = la manifestación. La Esperanza forma la imagen (de acuerdo con la Palabra de Dios), la fe actúa sobre la imagen y crea la sustancia (confianza)…hasta que se convierta en realidad. Pero tienen que actuar constantemente sobre esa fe y mantenerla en primer plano. Ayer estaba yo platicando con un buen amigo sobre la idea de cambiar el enfoque de mi blog de artículos sobre Lupus y el Dolor Crónico hacia artículos sobre la Esperanza, basados en mi testimonio personal. En ese momento él estaba escuchando un sermón en el radio y compartió lo siguiente conmigo. “En la lengua griega, las palabras Esperanza, Expectación, y Embarazo tienen la misma raíz y son intercambiables. Cuando Esperamos (algo), el Señor nos ha impregnado de lo que estamos en expectativa — como una madre embarazada que siente el principio de esa semilla de Esperanza.”

Ahora veamos las definiciones de algunas de las palabras de Hebreos 11:1, las palabras de mi pastor y lo que mi amigo compartió conmigo:

La Fe es LA SUSTANCIA: la realidad fundamental que es la base de todas las manifestaciones externas. Esto es la CONFIANZA.

Lo Esperado (LO ANTICIPADO): el pensar con certitud que algo va a suceder; el considerar que algo es razonable, requerido o necesario.

LA MANIFESTACION: una expresión perceptible, externa y visible; una demostración pública de poder y propósito

¿Esas cosas les bendicen el corazón a ustedes como me bendicen a mí? Espero que realmente sí. Pero si no, esperen un momento, que todavía no acabo. Dije que tengo 2 escrituras favoritas sobre las cuales baso mi Esperanza.  Aquí está la segunda:

“Sólo yo sé los planes que tengo para ustedes. Son planes para su bien, y no para su mal, para que tengan un futuro lleno de esperanza.” (Jeremías 29:11, RVC) ¿Ven esa palabra “Esperanza”? Esta escritura dice literalmente que Él nos VA A DAR nuestro destino ESPERADO/ANTICIPADO. No sólo en el cielo, sino también aquí en la tierra! Observen en el capítulo 6 de Mateo donde Jesús enseña a rezar a sus discípulos, diciendo “Padre Nuestro que estás en los cielos, santificado sea tu nombre. Venga tu reino. Hágase tu voluntad, en la tierra como en el cielo. El pan nuestro de cada día, dánoslo hoy. Perdónanos nuestras deudas, como también nosotros perdonamos nuestros deudores. No nos metas en tentación, sino líbranos del mal.”  ¡Esto está impreso con tinta ROJA, gente! Eso quiere decir que Él lo dijo, y por lo tanto ¡lo creo!  ¿Por qué? ¡Porque Él no tiene ni la capacidad para mentir!

Déjame compartir una versión de Jeremías 29:11 traducida de The Message (El Mensaje). “Yo sé lo que estoy haciendo, lo tengo todo planeado — planes para cuidarte, no abandonarte, planes para darte el futuro que ESPERAS (anticipas). Cuando me llames, cuando llegues a mí a rezar, escucharé. Cuando me vengas a buscar, me encontrarás. Sí, cuando me busques con sinceridad y lo quieres más que nada, me aseguraré que NO TE DESILUSIONARÁS. (Decreto de Dios)”

Sin importar donde haya estado en mi vida, ni las tragedias que me hayan sucedido, ni mis errores, ni qué tanto me haya alejado de Él, ¡Él me ama! Desde el momento en que lo acepté como mi Señor y Salvador y profesé con mi boca que Jesús Cristo murió en la cruz por mis pecados — Él me ha amado y esperado pacientemente mientras llegaba a enderezar me vida. Y me ha prometido que puedo esperar ser bendecida de una manera de abundancia (estoy bien consciente de que ya estoy bendecida), pero Él promete bendiciones más allá de lo que pudiera imaginarme. Y yo sí tengo una imaginación muy activa — así que estoy esperando algo fenomenal porque Su Palabra dice “Los que Esperan en Mi no se quedarán desilusionados.” Isaías 49:23

Me doy cuenta que esto no es mi testimonio en sí, pero sentí la necesidad de explicar de dónde viene mi Esperanza antes de proceder a contar los detalles brutales de mi pasado, Pero no se preocupen — no se lo voy a echar todo de una vez. Mi Esperanza es que esta obra llegue por lo menos a una persona. Una persona solitaria que comprenda que sea lo que sea que esté pasando en su vida…HAY Esperanza. Y Él está esperando que Le busques, que Le grites, que creas en Él, que Lo aceptes como tu Señor y Salvador, y te lloverá con sus bendiciones. Rezo que este blog les bendiga y que continúen a seguirme en este trayecto.

6 responses
GOOD BLESS YOU Shannon
i have no idea, the hell you been thru , voy a escribir en español que tu entiendes a la perfección. Shannon tu fuerza es increíble, haz trascendido no importa mas nada, porque Dios te dio esta fuerza para combatir esto y superaste tus fantasmas del pasado. De edad que si ya te quería, ahora aun mas pues te admiro, y creo que lo mas bonito que hay en esta vida es admirar y reconocer a alguien como tu. Dios esta contigo y no necesitas oír esto pero de todas formas quiero decirte Gracias por existir y por tu fortaleza
GBY
wow! de verdad que eres especial, ahora estoy escuchando una canción interpretada por Carly Rose... as long as you love, me parece que esta canción es como un homenaje a ti
Jorge! Hola! Como esta mi amigo?  Thank u so much for your kind words. Praise God my he'll is over and now I can move on with my life and use my testimony to help others Sent via the Samsung Galaxy Note5, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone-------- Original message --------From: Posthaven Comments Date: 6/17/2016 11:31 PM (GMT-06:00) To: shanndog68@gmail.com Subject: [hopentheword] New Comment - My HOPE Explained
1 visitor upvoted this post.