Love and Brimstone part two

My conclusions to my own questions from Love and Brimstone part one:

I will start by telling you who God is not:  He is not a big, angry, roaring, lightning-rod-throwing bully.  He does not hate and want to punish us.  He does not want us feeling sad, miserable, begging, crying, depressed, condemned, and unworthy.  Yes, He is angry.  BUT!  Not with us.  He is angry with the very real enemy we all face on this earth.  In my experience, so many churches focus on God’s wrath, but don’t put it in perspective.  That wrath is directed at Satan and his followers.  That wrath is toward the principalities and spirits that wreak havoc on His children.  Just because there is evil in this world, does not mean that we cannot focus on enjoying this life.  Don’t focus on the evil (know it is there and be aware of it), but enjoy what you have.  Be grateful for who you are and what you have accomplished and overcome.

The “religious” focus seems to be on “Do not love the world or anything in the world.  If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them.”  1 John 2:15  Let me breakdown or define the word World in this scripture:  The things OF the world (Kopoc – Greek for "order."  Kopoc comere is "elements of disorder") are objects that may become objects of sinful affection, such as wealth or honor.  St. John is not condemning having those things, because there are gifts and blessings from the Lord.  He is condemning the love OF those things.  World here is also speaking of the sinful elements of human life.  We are not to love evil, sin, or other gods. 

Why in the world would anyone want to believe in God and come to Christ if we, as believers, are all shame-faced, sullen, and miserable?  Who, in their right mind, would choose Jesus if He is just a punishing figure?  The answer is – they won’t.

Plain and simple – love God, love His ways, love His children (not their sin), and strive to live as Jesus did. “Whoever does not love, does not know God. Because God is love.” 1 John 4:8  He is love, He is love, He is love!  I can’t say it enough!  We are His children and He loves us.  Do you love your children?  Would you do anything for your children?  Guess what?  So would He.  And more.  His Word says, “Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead?  Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion?  If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”   Luke 11:11

Now to the question I used to ask myself about being a robot.  That question was based on, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart;”  Jeremiah 1:5  And, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.”  Psalm 139:13

Just because He knows me and knows my thoughts, does not mean I will only do what He says (unfortunately). I am not a robot - He created me with free will.  Without free will, I wouldn't need a Saviour.  Without free will, I wouldn't need Jesus.  Without free will, I wouldn't need a relationship with God. 

“Anyone who chooses to do the will of God will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own.”  John 7:17

“The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness.  Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”  2 Peter 3:9

“Human free will is manifested in the fact that, throughout Scripture, God gives us choices and calls on us to choose the way he knows is best.” <reknew.org: Where is Free Will in the Bible? 2014/08>

Choices, we are free to choose.  Everything in life is a choice.  Choices also come with consequences, but we are not free to choose the consequences of our decisions.

I choose to believe in Jesus Christ.  I believe that He came to the earth, robed in flesh.  I believe He died on the cross for my sins.  I believe He arose again on the 3rd day and took the keys of hell from the devil.  I believe He is coming back for his church (His people, NOT a religion). 

Why do I believe this?  Because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  I am a unique, peculiar, talented, and blessed woman.  Because He showed me that He is real.  I asked and He answered.  I could not deny His answer.  I cannot deny that I know that I know He dwells inside of me.  I feel Him and He speaks to me!  I believe because all of “this” did not just appear from nothing.  The complexity of the universe, the stars, the inner workings of the human body, the belly-laugh of a child, the tide of the ocean, the germination of a seed…that did not come from some random “bang” in the universe.  Someone made it all...that someone is God.

I cannot prove the existence of God to anyone.  All I can do is tell you to ask Him, "If you are real, prove it!"  Just be ready - because HE WILL!  Now, whether you choose to accept the proof is entirely up to you.

“For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”  Luke 11:10