I Went Off My Meds - agree or disagree?

I took myself off all of my meds; except my thyroid medicine and Aleve, 4 weeks ago.  I did it because I was constantly dizzy and wanted to figure out which one (or combination) was causing it.  I am pretty sure it was the Lyrica, but I not 100%.  I still need to take my list of medications to a pharmacist (NOT at the indian clinic) to see what the contraindications might be.

This is what I have observed since I quit taking them:  No more dizzy spells and I seem to have a little more energy.  However; the pain is IMMENSE!!!!  My ankle joints are pretty swollen and the pain is horrible (thank God for Aleve).  I don't sleep very well at night and I am pretty sure that is due to not taking Meloxicam and Flexiril at bedtime.  One good thing about not taking the flexiril - I don't wake up in the middle of the night because I need to go to the bathroom, only to realize I am already going.  The bad thing about not taking flexiril - the cramps in my legs are creeping back. I haven't noticed much edema since I quit taking Lasix.  I don't take my tramadol anymore and don't get the horrible headaches that went with it - I think it's kinda funny that the tramadol took the edge off of the pain in my legs and shoulders, but in return I got a splitting headache.

I feel so confused because I really thought the Lyrica was helping me and I fought so hard to get back on it.  Now I feel so much better (mentally) without it.

I am NOT recommending that other Lupies (or any other chronic pain sufferer) take themselves off of their medications!  This is my path and I have chosen to take this path off the fork in the road.  I am the one that will suffer the consequences for my decision.  I hope and pray that the consequences of my decision are favorable.

I have decided to look, a little more seriously into a product called Juice Plus.  I have read the website and the reviews.  I have also talked about it with one of my Lupie friends that is on it ( and swears by it).  I will discuss it with my doctor before making my final decision.  I am so very interested in looking into a more holistic approach to treating my disease.  I feel like there is a reason that native americans used so many herbs to treat illnesses - so many people survived thousands of years off of things that grow naturally on the earth.  I just feel like all the chemicals and poisons are making me sicker.

Again - I am NOT advising anyone else to take this path!  This is my decision for me.  I do not recommend that others do anything without first speaking with your own doctor and health care team.

Please say a prayer that I am following God's will for MY life concerning my health.

"The Chronic Games:  May the spoons be ever in your favor."

2 responses
It's your path and we all have to do what we feel is best for us. I still question my decision everyday but I do know and my family can tell you that I do better now than I did a few years back. The pills took over my life and made me feel worse. Is it The Juice Plus or the fact that I don't have all of those chemicals in my body dragging me down..........I don't know. Is it because I exercise more (because I'm not sick in bed from those pills) I don't know. Is it because I watch what I eat, I don't know. I do know that my mind is clear and I have many more good days than bad. I'm not in the hospital two weeks out of every month. I also know that Lupus affects every soul differently so what works for one may not for another. I pray that the path you choose finds you better and brighter days with less pain as you move along your journey of life. Love you Bunches :)
I think you are doing a brave thing & I totally agree with your reasoning. Medicine is not about treatment or cure anymore. It is about the all-mighty dollar. I pray that you find relief! Love you!