Hope, Strength & Comfort

I read an awesome quote on facebook the other day.  It said -   "At my lowest:  God is my Hope.  At my weakest:  God is my Strength.  At my saddest:  God is my Comforter."

How awesome is that?!?!?  It's so true!  God is our EVERYTHING - our problem is that we don't "let" him be our everything.  I know that I am so guilty of freaking out, losing my cool, letting go of hope, throwing ginormous pity parties, and a myriad of other knee-jerk reactions to obstacles in my life and concerning my health.  I get myself so worked up that I can't even appreciate the baby steps that are being made.  I just let go of Jesus and wallow in self pity and hopelessness.  (I said I wasn't going to do that anymore)

I worked myself up so bad last week that I was ready to quit!  I wasn't going to go back to the doctor, I wasn't going to take my medicine.  I was just DONE.  I didn't care and I didn't care that my family DID care.  I told myself that I was just going to bed and staying there till it was over.  I wished myself dead.

What an idiot! 

I did go to bed and I cried myself to sleep.  My faith foundered, a little, but it was still there.  Once I became quiet, God showed me (thru my dreams) that I have to keep fighting.  I have a family that loves me.  I have grandkids that need me and I adore.  I can still have a life and I still DO have a life.  I have plans and goals that I have not yet achieved. 

God has a  plan for my life.  I don't yet know what that is, exactly, but I know that he has one.  I know this because he said so...

 Jeremiah 29:11   For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."

So how can I stop holding on?  He is my hope and he promised me a future!

I know that I will still have my down times and that I will probably still have pity parties, but I will hold onto the Hope, Strength and Comfort that my God supplies to me every single day of my life.