Freedom and Joy

Freedom:  voluntary; without restraint; without cost; to set at liberty.

It is a word that has been heavy in my mind and on my heart.  I didn't truly know its meaning until the last few years.  Matter of fact; I didn't even realize I was in bondage.

- Bondage to memories that haunted and tormented me.  Memories of things that no child should have to endure. 

- Bondage to an abusive marriage, being convinced that I wasn't a good Christian if I couldn't make it work and walked away.  

- Bondage to a chronic and debilitating illness, convinced it was my cross to bear.

Believing that I was paying my dues.  All those old adages playing in my mind; "You made your bed, now you have to lie in it."  The whole This Is It, mentality.  You play the hand you are dealt.  Thinking that I could never find, deserve or have joy in my life.

How wrong I was:  Through prayer, trial and error, study and just deciding to BELIEVE - I have been liberated.  I am set free.

"It is for freedom that Christ has set us free.  Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery."  Galatians 5:1  I am set free.  I can stand up for myself.  I have been given the "right" to defend myself.  I no longer have to bow down to a slave master, doing every dirty deed he demands of me.

"For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.  In love, he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will - to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves."  Ephesians 1:4-6  Adopted children have the same rights and privileges as biological children.  Our "adoption" is our freedom from slavery and has granted us to the right to be holy and blessed.

"The is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male or female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.  If you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham's seed and heirs according to the promise."  Galatians 3:28-29   All Christians are the same to God.  Once you become a Christian, you are a direct descendant of Abraham.  An heir to his (last will and testament) to all that the Lord promised to him.

***There it was!  The blessing is for me - so I accepted it.  Freedom is for me - so I took it!***  

If you are in bondage in any way, shape or form - I am telling you - you do not have to be.  Freedom, blessings and joy unspeakable are yours for the asking. 

The blessing is for you - FREEDOM IS FOR YOU 

(If this message has touched you or you are struggling with an issue of bondage, I would love to pray for you.  Please message me here or www.facebook.com/hopentheword you can also private message me on the facebook page.)