An Intercessory Prayer

A fitful night of sleep.  Just what the enemy wanted. 

I am in no mood for this.  I am angry and I am tired.  It's time to go to battle.  It's time to stand up against the onslaught of the enemy.  Today is the day.  I cannot put it off any longer.  I saw it coming, and I didn't "get serious" about it.  Well, now he thinks I'm lazy.  He has decided to put lies in my head, telling me that I let myself and others down, that I am not as good a Christian as I lead people to believe, that I am not good enough, and that I am not strong enough to stand and fight.  LIES!  ALL LIES!

I am exactly that good Christian woman, no, not perfect; but I am good enough for God.  I am good enough to love and be loved.  I am strong enough to admit my weaknesses, and have faith enough to believe that God will put the strength in me that I need to overcome those weaknesses.  I am strong enough to get on my knees and GO TO WAR!

I am not afraid, "I shall not fear, for it is the Lord my God who fights for me." Deuteronomy 3:22 (personalized)

"I will be strong and bold; I have no fear or dread of them, because it is the Lord my God who goes with me; He will not fail me or forsake me."  Deuteronomy 31:6 (personalized)

"So I will not fear, for He is with me; I will not be dismayed, for He is MY God.  He will strengthen me and help me; He will uphold me with His righteous right hand."  Isaiah 41:10 (personalized)

"He will cover me with his pinions, and under His wings I will find refuge; His faithfulness is a shield and buckler.  I will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day."  Psalm 91:4-5 (personalized)

All of these promises to overcome fear and promises that the Lord WILL indeed take care of us and fight for us are in the Word.  They are promises to us, His children.  Why did I let the enemy creep into my sleep last night?  Because I neglected to remind myself of the Word before going to sleep.  I neglected to give my anxieties and righteous indignation over to Him in prayer.  He cannot fight for me if I don't allow Him to.  

I need rest.  I need good dreams.  I need Him to help me.  I'm ready now.  

Father, I ask you to come into the situation.  I give to you what is yours and I accept what is mine.  The enemy is attacking precious people that I love.  I come to you on their behalf.  I plead the blood of Jesus over them.  Protect them, strengthen them, guard them, uphold them.  I pray you send your warring angels on their behalf to fight off this attack.  Guard their hearts, minds, and bodies.  Fill them with your love and promises. I rebuke the spirit of addiction.  I rebuke the spirit of self-destruction.  I rebuke the spirits and principalities of confusion, lies, destruction, condemnation, physical and mental illness, and depression.  Satan!  By the power given to me by Jesus Christ, I say, you are nothing but a defeated liar and I command you to GET OUT!  You may have whispered lies that were believed for a moment, but the lies are in the open now and you are cast down.  And I give all glory and honor for that to my Lord and Saviour, who is worthy to be praised.  Thank you Jesus for kicking me into gear this morning.  Thank you for giving me guidance and and grit to stand up to this attack.  I praise you and I glorify you and only you.  Without you, I can do nothing.  Spiritual warfare is real and I am so glad that I don't have to face this alone.  I am relieved that you will wage the war and hold me up, even when my body becomes tired and feel I can't take another step - I don't have to do it alone for you are with me.  I am on my knees, fighting.  With You, my Lord - my rear guard.  Thank you and all glory and honor to you.  In Jesus name.  Amen.