A Lesson From Naomi

As a woman who has suffered from a chronic illness and the ensuing chronic pain that comes along with it; I realize that it is very difficult to stay positive and BELIEVE that God is not punishing or forgetting about you.  I suffered in pain and sickness for over 7 years and I thought it would never end.  I prayed and prayed and wondered "where are you, God?  Why do you let me suffer like this?  What have I done so bad to deserve this?"  And yes, at times I even prayed "Just take me now, I cannot live one more day in this pain." 

I am ashamed now to realize that my faith was so far dwindled that I was on the edge of slipping over the cliff.  Because I know that I know that I know - God is NOT a cruel God, He is a LOVING God.  I just forgot (or more likely) pushed aside, that He answers our prayers in His time.  There was a lesson to be learned in that misery and until I gathered my faith back up to BELIEVE that I would be healed - I tied His hands toward my healing.  You see, God is a gentleman - He does not step in where we do not allow Him.  My doctor says I am currently in remission - I believe THE doctor has healed me.  And for those naysayers:  if I am not healed and I get sick again, I will NOT ever believe it is punishment or that I lack faith.  If I haven't learned anything else, I have learned that I do have faith and it is strong and no matter what I face in this life, I can get through it because I have my Lord and Savior walking beside me and He will carry me when I cannot walk.

I was reading the book of Ruth today and Naomi's story really spoke to me.  She also believed that God had turned against her.  She lived in famine ridden Moab and nearly starved to death.  Her husband died and a few years later, she lost both of her sons.  She told both of her daughters-in-law to go back to their families, that she had nothing to offer them and that they would likely starve to death if they remained with her.  One of them went home, but not Ruth.  She loved Naomi and pledged to stay with her to the end of their lives.

"...the hand of the Lord is gone out against thee."  Ruth 1:13 

  Naomi believed that her adversity demonstrated that she no longer had God's favor, but that He was against her.  We must not consider all adversity and hardship to be the result of God's actions or His dissatisfaction with us.  Satan and everyday life experience will inflict difficulties and hardship on us, irregardless of our relationship with God.   An awesome example of this is in Luke chapter 13, beginning with verse 11 "and a woman was there who had been crippled by a spirit for 18 years.  She was bent over and could not straighten up at all.  When Jesus saw her, he called her forward and said to her, "Woman, you are set free from your infirmity." Then he put his hands on her, and immediately she straightened up and praised God."  ....fast forward to verse 16 (Jesus speaking) "Then should not this woman, a daughter of Abraham, whom Satan has kept bound for 18 long years, be set free on the Sabbath day from what bound her?" 

The King James version calls it a spirit of infirmity.  Jesus sees some physical sickness as the direct result of demonic activity or oppression.  This crippled woman was afflicted by a spirit of infirmity.  "This woman...Satan hath bound." (v 16 KJV)  We must "see" with the eyes of Christ, the suffering of humanity.  Jesus taught that many people are imprisoned by sickness and they are in great distress and in great need.  We are in great danger of becoming insensitive to the world's misery.  True disciples are like Jesus, in that they are able to see life's distress and hear the groaning of creation.  If we suffer illness, it is not punishment - it is of this world.  If we see or know those suffering illness, it is not their "fault,"  and we are to pray for and with them and BELIEVE for their healing.

Now, back to Naomi's story:  Naomi and Ruth traveled to Bethlehem in the time of the barley harvest.  In the law of Moses, God had commanded Israel to allow the poor and needy to gather grain that was left in the fields after the harvest.  (God wants those who have plenty to share with those in need.)  When they arrived in Bethlehem, Ruth went to one of the fields to gather grain in order to feed herself and her beloved mother-in-law.  While Ruth was gathering in the field, she caught the eye of Boaz, who owned the field.  He said to her "I've been told all about what you have done for your mother-in-law since the death of your husband - how you left your father and mother and your homeland and came to live with a people you did not know before.  May the Lord repay you for what you have done.  May you be richly rewarded by the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge."  (Ruth 2:11-12 NIV)  Ruth went back to Naomi and told her about the man that owned those fields and Naomi was ecstatic!  You see, Boaz was related to Naomi's late husband.  And in those days, Boaz was required by the law of Moses to provide for the needs of his relatives. (Boaz went one step further by marrying Ruth - but that's a whole 'nother subject).

"Then Naomi said to her daughter-in-law, "Blessed be he of the Lord, who has not forsaken His kindness to the living and the dead!" And Naomi said to her, "This man is a relation of ours, one of our close relatives."  And this, my friends, is where Naomi began to understand that God had NOT forsaken her!  That His love for her was never ending.  She had a change of attitude toward her previous perception of the situation she was in.  She began to understand that God, had indeed; heard all her prayers and had answered them in the PERFECT time. 

Sure, she went through some pretty tough times, but I am pretty sure the great-great-(step)grandmother of King David was thankful for every single lesson she learned during that time of her life.  I know that I am grateful for the lessons I would never have learned had I not gone through those YEARS of pain and suffering.  I would have been able to sympathize with others in this situation, but now I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I can truly "feel" the pain of those suffering with the myriad of chronic illness and chronic pain disorders and diseases.  It's called empathy - and I thank God for it!

Dear Lord, I lift up each of my friends, family and LaughingLupie readers that suffer from chronic disease, to your throne.  I ask that you strengthen their bones, hearts, lungs, livers, kidneys, skin and minds.  I pray that you show your love and mercy in a very personal way to each and every one.  I give you all praise and glory, In Jesus' mighty name.  Amen.