A 5 x 8 Storage (part 2)

"That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive;  But speaking truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ. From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted (held) by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto edifying (building up) of itself in love."  Ephesians 4:14-16 (KJV)  Speak truth.  Speak love.  That goes for self-talk too.  How can we love others, if we do not love ourselves?  How can we work patience and faith, if we do not exercise our faith and have patience with our very own lives? 

"Wherefore putting away lying, speak every man truth with his neighbor:  for we are members one of another."  Ephesians 4:25 (KJV)  This goes back to where I said Job's wife would have been better off giving Job constructive criticism (A 5 x 8 Storage part 1).  We must speak to each other truthfully.  Be honest here, who hasn't told a white lie in order to save someone's feelings?  Instead of lying, we should speak God's word.  Lies will not help anyone go through the gate of Heaven.  This isn't to say that you should just slam someone with the first thought that pops into your head.  Speak truth with love.  How about this?  Pray BEFORE you open your mouth.  And then trust that the words God gives you - are the right ones!  BAM - IMAGINE THAT!

"Behold, God will not cast away a perfect man, neither will he Help evildoers."  Job 8:20 (KJV) 

"And so, after he had patiently endured, he obtained the promise."  Hebrews 6:15 (KJV)  See that word?  Patiently - frequently we have to go through storms to receive God's blessing.  Because if we just get the blessing, we don't appreciate it.  For example:  If a 16 year old works and earns the money for their 1st car, more times than not; no matter what a clunker it is, they will treasure it like the best rolls royce on the road.  Then you see kids, whose parents have bought them a brand new car - how long do a lot of those last?  6 months maybe?  Why?  They didn't work and sweat for it.  It is just STUFF to them.  There was no patience, there was no storm, there was no love - just give it to me.  God blesses the truth and God blesses work and God blesses love.

I have LOTS of questions for God.  I frequently question the motive behind the storm.  I get mad and I rant and rave.  And yes, I even get mad a God!  Oh my goodness, did she just ADMIT that?!?!?  What kind of person gets mad at God?  How could she?  I can because I am not a robot.  I can because anger is an emotion.  I can because God gave me a free mind and a free heart.  I can because sometimes I don't know who else to be mad at.  But here is the line - I get mad and I scream at God and I cry to God and I feel sorry for myself to God - but I NEVER deny God, I NEVER denounce God, I NEVER curse God.  And just like my mother, He loves me no matter what.  And he knows that I will scream and cry and question and then when I have gotten it all out, I will quiet and then I can HEAR what he has to say to me.  It all boils down to this, I am not REALLY mad at God and He knows it.  He knows that I am mad at my own self.  I am angry that I have gotten myself into some sort of pickle by jumping the gun or moving where I didn't belong and now I need a rescue.

"And seek not ye what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink, neither be ye of doubtful mind.  For all these things do the nations of the world seek after:  and your Father knoweth (realizes) that ye have need of these things.  But rather seek ye the kingdom of God; and all these things shall be added unto you."  Luke 12:29-31 (KJV)  If we look to God first, He will show us the way and He will provide all that we need.  My problem is that I always think I need something before I truly do.  Just like with my sickness - I was in a hurry to get answers and medication.  God has shown me to work my faith in this situation, because it is all unfolding in His time.  And even better than doctor's answers and medication - the Great Physician is doing a work in me!  I am better than I have been in 7 years!  Hallelujah!

"Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.  But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing."  James 1:3,4  Trust, have faith in God's greater plan for your life.   Exercise your faith - this is where patience is found.

As my friend Amy says, "peace out with love."